1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Need advise and critque

Discussion in 'Habitat and Exhibit' started by OutdoorCreations, May 7, 2009.

1. I am new to this ball game and this is my first of many. First lifesize, first fox, first habitat, etc..... I put this together today and I think that there is just too much going on with the habitat. I was thinking of having the fox pouncing through the tall grasses but i dont know. If you guys can give me your opinions and adive that would be greatly appreacated. I am ready for whatever you throw at me. and also I was wondering what would make for a good ground cover? these pieces arent there permanatly so I can change things around. Thanks

2. Here is the top view

3. jbnf

jbnf New Member

I think the habitat looks pretty good. Seems pretty simple but gets the point across. When you get it finished post some pics.

Its hard to tell much about the mounts from the pics. Get some closer shots so a better critique can be given by the experts on here.

4. bill@hogheaven

[email protected] New Member

I like it. The colors compliment the entire piece. I would not add any more tall habitat items though. Keep your ground cover muted & it wont draw attention away from the Fox. In fact I really like it for whatever thats worth.

5. Thanks for your thoughts I will post pics when finsihed

6. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

I make "dirt" by pouring foam and while it's still very sticky (even wet and a bit runny) I add either sand for a light looking "ground" as I'd use with these weeds you have or sprinkle mulched peat moss for a darker, "forest floor" type dirt. I think you idea and lay out are good because they are simple and uncluttered.