1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Im going to give this a try...

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Prodigal_Son, May 8, 2009.

1. I have a European Black Boar piglet (Russian Boar). I want to used the hide for a life size and the skull for a skull display. I am very new to taxidermy.

I was planning on tanning the hide myself, but it is a hard item to replace. I have limited tanning experience so I should send it out right? I know that is the standard answer given.

What would you advise to use for a manikin? I was thinking along the same lines as a bird with the burlap style cloth rapped around a wire frame.

I think I have the skull process down thanks to great tutorial by folk like Seawolf so I don't for see that being an issue (yet).

Any advise, especially on trouble areas I should know about will be greatly appreciated.

How would you recommend skinning (what cut method)? Ventral, Dorsal ?

R/

JW

2. bill@hogheaven

bill@hogheaven New Member

Carcass cast the body, you will find a lot of info on this. Ventral skin it. When you mount it they have a LOT of loose skin esp. in the throat brisket area. I really think you should name it " Shorty " in memory of my boar & make a pet of him.

3. Bill, thanks for the info. I named him Nacho but he died. He was to be a mascot/pet for our hunting club. I saw a tutorial on the casting, I just need to read up. Thanks

JW

4. bill@hogheaven

bill@hogheaven New Member

Nacho....R.I.P.

If you have a specific ?? on casting & molding this PM me & I will try to help.

5. Thank you...I will more than likely take you up on it after I read a little more about it and get the matterials gathered.

JW