1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Paint Colors On A Walleye

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by jbb, Aug 3, 2009.

1. jbb

jbb New Member

Can someone please tell me what color of gold or yellow you use to bring out the gold look on the side,and the cheek of a walleye. I am a beginner, and used a bleeding candy bright yellow, and it looks to yellow.

2. FishArt

FishArt Well-Known Member

I'm sure there's a gazillion ways to do it. But, with most walleyes I put very little yellow on them. I may hit the side and cheek very lightly with Candy Golden Yellow or Amber Oxide. After that, it's pretty much all scale tipping with either Polytranspar Yellow Gold (Powder) mixed with some basecoat. Or, Jeff Lumsden's Liquid Scales/Gold will achieve similar results but it's all pre-mixed and ready to go!. I use hand brushes in the cheeks/head and do a variety of very small scale tips on up to "worm markings" (see reference). Depending on my reference and the way a particular walleye looks, I may add some sillvers (pearl) in the cheeks and also maybe some browns if need be. A lot depends on how they dry too. Most of the time I can get where I want simply with a VERY LIGHT hit of either yellow I mentioned and then the gold tips. If you sepnd 90 minutes or more tipping all those scales on a walleye you won't need too much more as you'll already have a Kick butt paint job!

3. jim tucker

jim tucker Active Member

The Walleye I get have a wide range of colors. The Canadian ones are dark with more yellow, Lake Erie are greener and local ones are pale.

I use Yellow Ochre a lot to color them. Amazingly it looks good as a light mist as overal tint or if you want those popping yellow scales it does them as well.

4. i use Yellow Ochre and paint each spot.. then i spray a light coat of sparkling white pearl over the yellow and it gives it a gold-yellow effect..

Attached Files: