1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

why is a mount so expensive?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by dead duck, Jan 29, 2007.

1. dead duck

dead duck New Member

i'm new to taxidermy, haven't mounted anything yet. but i know what's used. let's look at mounting a duck. the foam body, head,neck and stuff like that might end up being about $20-$25. what is the big expense?

2. Tom Cruickshank

Tom Cruickshank The History Channel says I'm "creepy"!!

Labor & overhead.........

3. greenhorn26

greenhorn26 New Member

its not the cost of the supplies , time and skill at what you do is what you are going to pay for,, look at it this way I could have my 3 year old paint a pic and couldnt sell it more the $1.00 but go to a gallery and you will spen thousnds, but they both used a $20.00 in paint,

4. Curtis

Curtis Member

TN
    I noticed you said you haven't mounted anything yet. I bet you will reailze what the "big expense" is when you tackle a duck or anything else. After mounting my first (pain in the rear) turkey, I wish I could charge $1000 for one.

5. WILDLIFER

WILDLIFER " Damn Mini Flesher !"

I used to think that too, whats the big expense & started mounting things at cut throat prices ! Then I realilized I was working all the time & getting no where fast !Why does a DR. charge so much ? A tongue depresser only cost a few cents !

6. michael p.

michael p. Getting better with age :)

cost of living, federal taxes, property taxes, lights, heating, cooling, cable bill, internet bill, car payment, food, gas, clothes, mortgage, rent, insurance........thats just a couple reasons you have to make a PROFIT in business!