1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tan comparison

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Nate Thompson, Aug 19, 2009.

1. I've been using Paratan for a while and I really liked the results. I decided to see what all the hype was about so I tried Krowtann. I used it on a coyote, mule deer, white tail, and an antelope. I didn't loose any capes, the hair is tight and they all shaved well, I got acceptable stretch and the process was as simple as it gets. I really didn't save any time I don't think. All in all I liked it, but was not blown away by the results. I still like the feel of a Paratan tanned cape and think that overall the price is a little better (more bang for my buck). I'll be sticking with the Paratan.

2. hidey

hidey New Member

Hey Im new to the taxidermy biz.I currently use krowtann my self but would be interested in trying the paratan. I usually use commercial tanning for my deer cuz i feel they have more stretch but maybe you have some ideas on how to get good stretch and a good clean tan.Also have you done a lot of hair off cuz i tried it with lime and it took forever and was a lot of work. any other ideas and how much would you charge for a job like that?