1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

coues deer form question???

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by jonathanjbg1977, Sep 6, 2009.

1. I have a question that I am pretty sure someone can answer for me. I was wondering if I could use a coues deer form for a small whitetail that I have. McKenzie has one for coues deer that is the size that I need and I like the form but I am unsure if it will fit the whitetail that I have due to mabe the neck being longer than a coues or them having two different body structures. Please someone if you could help me with this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,Jonathan

2. coues_deer

coues_deer New Member

USA
    What size measurements are you looking for?

3. I'm no expert but a coues deer is just a sub-species of the wtd so if your measurements are the same I wouldn't see an issue. But like I stated I am no expert. Other opinions may vary.

4. The measurements that I have for the whitetail is etn 5 3/4 and tight behind the ears is 13 inches.

5. coues_deer

coues_deer New Member

USA
    The head on the Coues deer form will be different but you could use it. McKenzie has a 6x14 in there old style forms and KB has a 5 1/5 x 13 3/4" whitetail. Joe Coombs also has a 5 1/2 x 13 if I remember right.

6. AFWS

AFWS The lost Robertson

What pose are you wanting ??? McKenzie has a Semi-Sneak 5" nte 12" behind ears or a 6" nte 13" behind the ears.I normally buy a form 1/2 smaller (nte) than the deer to give me extra skin.Looks like you might have to alter whatever you do.Was that over the hair or the actual meat?