1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Airbrushing

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by Jeff., Dec 11, 2009.

1. Jeff.

Jeff. New Member

Alright, I finally need an airbrush to take care of some stains.

What do you guys use, any good deals? I'd imagine I don't need anything really expensive.

I currently have an air compressor for my air tools, but it looks like I might need a smaller compressor that is dedicated to airbrushing???

Help me here, people. I'm an airbrushing/compressor noob!

Thanks!

2. you can get a regulator to control pressure to your airbrush, cheaper than a compressor I think

3. thefishbio

thefishbio New Member

The badger brand works pretty good for start up enthuses. Just make sure it comes with all the attachments. I would at least recommend a double stage if the use is going to be high.
    X2 on regulator. ;)

4. roundman81

roundman81 New Member

WI
    I have only had 2 air compressers and they both had regulators on them. Don't know what pressure is the best for airbrushing.

5. Jeff.

Jeff. New Member

So which models are you guys using? I'm debating on buying something cheap at Harbor freight, or something a little nicer, not sure what is necessary.

6. roundman81

roundman81 New Member

WI
    My first one was a Craftsman. Second one I just got is a Brute (farm & fleet) that was on sale I haven't messed with it, use it for Finish nailer and blowing off wood dust. It has a ten gal. tank and a 1.5 hp motor I think.

7. Jeff.

Jeff. New Member

Sorry, I meant which air brushes.

I've got a Porter Cable 4.5 Gallon compessor that has a regulator on it (just don't know if it'll go low enough). Also have a ViAir in my truck for onboard air or traveling airbrushing (haha, joke).

8. Jeff,