1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bear teeth seem to be breaking

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by Bard, Dec 13, 2009.

1. Bard

Bard New Member

??? My daughter shot a real nice bear last spring, we had it cleaned, degrease, and bleached for a Euro Mount. We have noticed some of the teeth seem to be cracked and one of the main canine has broken. I know the man who did the skull had to degrease a second time and uses a degrease much stronger than what can normally be bought. Is this normal, and what can I do to prevent anymore breaking.

Thank you for your time.

Craig

2. roundman81

roundman81 New Member

WI
    Craig, from what I have read in the old post on here is that teeth usually crack from temp. change during the process of cleaning, degreasing and whitening. I'm still pretty new at this and never experienced this myself. Do a search and you will find more info and some ways to repair them.

3. Bard

Bard New Member

Thank you, I just noticed the problem and ran to the sight, knowing someone could point me in the right direction.

Craig

4. roundman81

roundman81 New Member

WI
    Your welcome.

5. MR.Ed

MR.Ed New Member

It usually happens when the temp gets above the boiling point. They are tough to degrease and someone might have tried to boil the grease out.

6. RDMARTIN53

RDMARTIN53 Active Member

Canines will split and crack sometimes no matter what you do. Too much humidity, not enough or too dry. Not necessarily the way it was prepared but just over time. Best you can do is glue the pieces back and seal the teeth with clear fingernail polish. Even better if you can remove the teeth to seal. I use paraloid and use it sparingly on canines. Hot and cold, dry and wet are enemies to hollow teeth.

7. MattHCT

MattHCT New Member

RD Martin X2

8. Old Fart

Old Fart Active Member