1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Just Getting Started

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by czykdbcz, Dec 26, 2009.

1. czykdbcz

czykdbcz Artist or just crazy

va
    I have had an interest in taxidermy for years, however I am just getting started or thinking about getting started. Any bit of information would be helpful.
    I am not looking at the moment for a career change but one may never know. Any and all input would be welcome.

2. dwstex38

dwstex38 New Member

Find you a critter that you are interested in mounting and start learning.You will get tons of info from this site itself. Make mistakes and ask questions. Thats the only way you will learn. I have spent countless hours just reading posts on this site and have learned a ton.I started just like you with no clue what i was doing but i learned from my mistakes and still learning everyday. Good luck

3. jbb

jbb New Member

This sight will help you along the way. Go into the tutorials when you find which animal you would like to tackle first, this is very helpful. They have how to dvd's out there on how to mount most anything. Most are well worth the money. some are out dated. Hands on is where you will learn the most, and you will never have enough reference photos to work off of. Good luck.. Start off with something simple.

4. dipper

dipper New Member

Making a career change. From what? If you haven't attempted taxidermy yet, that might be jumping the gun. Make sure you can offer a quality product, before you walk away from any type of career, especially these days. There's so many more considerations than that, but it's one to start with.

5. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

There are pages of reading on this subject in the archive here. Up to the upper right of this page, in the quick link box, click on "Old forums" and search away.

6. TIM DUNCAN

TIM DUNCAN surry county va