1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Earbutt Masters please critique

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by Vince Spellane, Jan 17, 2010.

1. Photos below

2. This is my first try at an aggressive ear....please let me know what you think of the positioning as well as musculature and location...this will be used in an upcoming competition. I roughed it in tonight and still have the rest of the week to make changes as necessary. I couldn't find any casts, models, or photos of anatomy with hair removed, in an aggressive pose, so I placed everything how I thought it would move or distort in a sharper angle. Skull plate, back of head, and right ear are not finished. Head was also cut off pivoted from atlas/axis to obtain more of "hard look" pose.

Thanks
    Vince
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Pivot point and bottom line were based on many skull measurements to locate ear canal

3. fozziebear

fozziebear Active Member

Hey Vince, since I always put my earliners in before I mount and then form my butt's with clay, I was wondering how you go about mounting.... do you detatch your earliner's from the form or do you mount it up the way it is? Never seen it done this way..... but that's not say'n much lol, have not been doin it long so there are lots of way's of doin things. Can it be done with a short y cape? Please explain your method to a beginner lol. Thanks Rick

4. Rick