1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bobcat head mold question?

Discussion in 'Molding and Casting' started by KClem, Mar 19, 2010.

1. KClem

KClem New Member

I'm pretty new to this mold making and have a question. I've got a bobcat thawing out to skin either tomorrow or Sunday depending on how quickly she thaws. The cat has a big wide pumpkin head as compaired to the one on the form I bought. So, I plan to make a plaster of Paris cast/mold of it's head after I skin it and replace the one on the form. Is it better to leave the eyes in the carcuss or remove them during the mold making? How do you recreate the nose area? Any tips are welcome.

2. bill@hogheaven

[email protected] New Member

You would be much farther ahead to save it for reference & alter the head on the form to match.

3. scanman

scanman New Member

Leave the eyes in, makes it easier to mold. Make a two piece mold, coat mold with wax and PVA and then cast with foam. This will give you your first cast, now you can mold in the lip line with clay, carve out your eye sockets( using the impression of the eyes which you left in), fill in any defects, etc. The link below shows a picture of a kit fox I did, now I make a mold of that and cast in foam to get my final cast. I don't spend much time on the nose cause I generally cut it out and use clay or apoxy sculpt underneath during the mounting process or use an artifical nose.

http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php/topic,165468.msg1149736.html#msg1149736

4. KClem

KClem New Member