1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

No One will believe this!!

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by hounddoggy, Jul 11, 2010.

1. hounddoggy

hounddoggy Member

I tanned a few buck hides from last season. They were tanned with jrts and have been in freezer. For kicks I clamped them to a sheet of plywood and left them to dry for a day. Fired up the weed eater!! I do landscaping for a living. I slowly went over the flesh side of the skinn with the weed eater on half throttle. NO B.S. !!! HIDE IS SO SOFT!! hIDE WAS TANNED AND IN FREEZER. I took it out and went to town. The edges are a little tough to get to but wow!! Today I oiled them and plan to weed eat them again! unreal how this works. You have to use a very heavy dia. line so it wont cut the hide. the string just slaps the hide. I dont expect yall to but this but it works! When ot dries i re oil and weed eat. so far so good!

2. RTF

RTF Active Member

LOL ! Oh god, you know I am going to have to try that on some of my own hides. Breaking in with a weed whacker ! Now that you dont hear everyday.

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Just when you think you've heard everything.

I still gotta ask, How in hell did WEEDEATER and TANNING get into the same thought process? Didn't Ray Stevens have a song about a weedeater and a chicken?

4. RTF

RTF Active Member

I think it's more like how in the hell did weedeater and hide break-in get into the same equation. And how did pressure washer and fleshing fall into the same category. Somebody always thinking of a better way.

5. This is nuts...By the way,welcome back George

6. scpol

scpol Wholesale Bird Taxidermy....Fan of Mike & Harry

Do you know what diameter the weed wacker line was ??? ::) ::)

7. RDA

RDA Active Member

is jrts really a TAN???? ;D

8. AFWS

AFWS The lost Robertson

NO dp is ;D

9. coonhollow

coonhollow Active Member