1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bear rug tan

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Mike M, Aug 31, 2006.

1. Mike M

Mike M New Member

I sent 5 bears to the tannery and this is my first time using a tannery. I got them back and was only happy with 4 of them. The other of the bears has a nice strip of fur down the spine and the legs, but the whole thing in between the armpits is see through and bairly has any fur left on it. Also the hide is paper thin compared to the other 4. Now who is to blame for this big loss in hair? The hunter, me, or the tannery? The other 4 turned out nice so i'm not sure what happened to this one. Any opinions is much appreciated. Thanks.

2. Mike M

Mike M New Member

Also what can i do to fix this? Nothing?

3. Felpy

Felpy New Member

I manage a small tannery in Alaska and occasionally we get similiar outcomes. We can do a batch of bears that all look to be in good shape, they all get treated the same, but occasionally one will come out as you described. Since they were all treated the same it tells me that something was wrong with the one before it was turned over to the tannery. One thing we have noticed is fall bear hides are thinner and require very little shaving. Earily to mid-spring bears have thicker hides and require more shaving. The hides on late spring bears are noticably thinner than earily to mid-spring bears. This may explain the thin hide. Thin hides tend to want to slip in the armpit and groin or belly region. Just some possible causes.

4. Mary

Mary Guest

Mike,