1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Never Use Western Skies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by whitetail mike, Sep 15, 2010.

1. I finally am tried of all the waiting and dealing with trying to get my hides back from western skies.If you need the experience in fixing holes in the mouth,eyes cut open,holes in the ears,then use should use western.I took out my hides this last year to them,So i know they stayed frozen for the trip,and I let them do my turning for me.So i do a short Y cut and freeze them.Out of the 40 hides I sent them this year,I have at least 10 to 12 go bad on me.There are slip spots on the neck and the shoulder areas.I have been doing taxidermy for over 6 years full time now,so I do no how to take care of my hides.This company this last year managed to mess up more of my capes and fine furs.I just got my last capes back this week.I had sent them a zebra hide and it took them over 9 months to tan it.I was beginning to wonder if I was ever going to get it back.Plus this year they managed to lose a Elk cape of mine,and two foxes and a bobcat.So I had to find other elk cape and still dont have my fine furs back.I have been in contact with two other taxidermists which,out of 10 deer capes sent there 4 of them went bad or slip.My fine furs that i did get back all of the hair in the ears are slipping and big holes in the face.I have spent more time fixing there dam skinning holes and shaving holes it is to the point I am ready to scream.
    I can not stress enough not to use this tannery,unless you want to fix capes all day before you get to mount it or pay threw the ass for replacement capes.
    If you need any info or pictures of these hides let me know.