1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

what casting material

Discussion in 'Molding and Casting' started by 1stturkey, Sep 27, 2010.

1. 1stturkey

1stturkey Member

Okay, I'm very new to casting and am trying the waters with a kit beaver. I made a death mask and then cast it and now have the head mold ready to pour. I'm casting the body now but had a problem with the tail. I ran out of alginate, which I hoped to mold it in so I went & molded it in thinned bondo as if I was molding with alginate - which completely cooked it. I had to dig out the cooked tail and it looks like the mold is okay but my question is: what material can I cast the tail with? I don't do much casting/mold at all so was hoping I could use something found locally, like the silicone caulk w/ acrylic paint thing.

If I either spray PVA down in the mold or melt some vaseline into it will I be able to pull the cast silicone tail from the bondo mold? It's the only mold I have & now that the tail is toast (literally) I want to make this next try count.

Thanks,
    Bryan

2. Bryan,
    It sounds like you want a flexible cast from silicone? What is the reason for that?
    I think I would use the PVA and do several light coats. Then make you cast from resin/bondo mix. If you have prepared the mold correctly, then you should be able to remove the cast from the mold. Then paint to finish.

3. 1stturkey

1stturkey Member

I don't necessarily need a flexible cast but thought the silicone would keep that "leathery" look. I'll go ahead then and prep the mold w/ PVA and cast w/ resin/bondo.

Thanks for the advice, Doug. I greatly appreciate it.

Bryan

4. 1stturkey

1stturkey Member