1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

How do I get a dry, stretchy tanned leather???

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Katie H, Oct 14, 2010.

1. Katie H

Katie H New Member

Hey guys, I am still new to using EZ-tan 100, and I am wondering what to do different to get a dry but stretchy skin? Does it have to do with how well the hide is fleshed? Or how well it is decreased? Or is it the type of oil that I am using??? I have been using neatsfoot oil, but b4 I buy any other type of oil, I want to know if it is necessary. I would appreciate any advice, to perfect my tanning!!! Thanks

2. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Katie, you have a misunderstanding about leather processing. You've tanned the hide but have you "broken" it. To get a "soft tan" a hide must be broken thoroughly. As for oils, Neatsfoot oil is a FINISH oil that produces a "candy coat" on leather. I've never heard of it being used to tan a hide, but then again, I only use a water based oil. Cheap hand lotion will work, but not nearly as well as some of the professional products available. I've used PROTOL from Van Dykes. Breaking a hide not only collapses the cell structure, it collapses the person trying to do it by hand. If you're looking for "soft stretchy leather", you best bet is to have it professionally tanned where they can tumble a hide to break it.

3. cyclone

cyclone Posts: 400001

All of the above.

and what George said...

4. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member