1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Krow-tan a disaster??

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Iowan, Dec 27, 2010.

1. Iowan

Iowan New Member

I've been tanning with Krowtan for 5-6 years, most of that time not oiling(as advertised). Customers are coming back with cracking around the eyes. I'm going to stand behind every mount. Would the only true fix be taking the mounts apart and retanning? I'm back to using a formic pickle, EZ100, and a good oil never to go back!! We learn allot from eachothers mistakes, how would you remedy the problem? Thanks for your time and advice. You could call 712-726-3080 to talk
    Iowan

2. Joe Winsor

Joe Winsor Active Member

Krowtan should be called Krowpickle.

3. antlerman

antlerman NTA Life Member #0118

I agree. I have remounted a total of 8, for other reasons, but sounds par for the course.

4. coonhollow

coonhollow Active Member

you never see lutan f, ez 100, or permatan disaster's on here if there are so many post on here with taxidermist having trouble with it..then why use it? it suks you have to rework for something like that. good luck! i would remedy by never using it, hard to say if you can oil fleshy areas to stop or slow it down.

5. TD

TD My GGG Grandfather John "Tanner John" King b 1820

I've never had any problems with Krowtan...............ODD that only a select few do .... ::)
    I've seen My mounts from 10 years + and NO cracking around the eyes LOL

6. coonhollow

coonhollow Active Member

don't pat yourself on the back yet Tom it hasn't been around long enough to compete with a commercial tanned skin as far as longevity. time will tell

7. antlerman