1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Question on snow habitat

Discussion in 'Habitat and Exhibit' started by Mink, Jan 2, 2011.

1. Mink

Mink New Member

This is my first time making a "snowy" habitat. However, I am not sure how best to make the snow stay on tight. I made the snow out of sanded foam, and attached it to the base with a thick layer of Elmers glue. I like how it looks, however, some of the snow seems very loose and will come off if you blow on it or touch it. I added more glue and foam to these weak spots, but I'm still not quite satisfied with the durability of it all. This will be a competition mount when finished, so I need to make sure everything stays together!

Is there any kind of sealant or fixative I should spray over the snow? Thanks for any input!

(I know the habitat looks a bit rough. It is a work in progress!)
    [​IMG]

2. brokentine

brokentine New Member