1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Hair falling out while tanning!

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by mustangfury, Jan 2, 2011.

1. mustangfury

mustangfury New Member

Hi,

I am fairly new to taxidermy. I have tanned several small animals (raccoons/squirrels) and had good success with them producing nice furs. I have been working on two deer blankets and the cape of a doe as a practice mount. I just took the first skin to be used for a throw blanket/rug out of the tanning solution and the hair just pulls right out like when you get a chicken to the right temperature for plucking. I was wondering what caused this.

My process included:
    1. Skinning and fleshing the hide
    2. Stretching and salting the hide until dried out (supposedly to help set the hair?)
    3. Washing and relaxing the hide with Tide laundry detergent
    4. Picking in Oxalic Acid (4 oz. acid/ 4 gallon water) for 48 hours with more salt than the water could absorb (pH lower than 2)
    5. Neutralizing in baking soda for 10 minutes.
    6. Soaking in an ammonia alum solution (1 lb. alum/ 4 gal. water) with more salt than the water could absorb for 1.5 weeks
    7. Removed and soaked in borax to relax the hide before oiling and noticed clumps of hair in the solution, then noticed all the hair was simply falling out.

Any help on what mistakes I may have made or what could cause this is much appreciated. There is always a chance I messed up one of my mixes. Also, there was an intense odor when I removed the lid from the tanning bucket. I smelled an odor on the other hides that went away after rinsing but nothing this intense.

Thanks

2. Not familiar with a Alum tan but 1.5 weeks seems like a VERY long time in a tanning Solution with no Acid... Probably Acid Swell.

And what the heck is the Borax for?

3. mustangfury

mustangfury New Member