1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Need some serious advice

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by Bones88, Jan 8, 2011.

1. Bones88

Bones88 Duthill Tanners

So I am an amateur taxidermist, I've done 7-8 deer heads, 2 lifesize racoons, a couple of wild boar game heads and a bear rug.

I get a guy asking me to do a 1/2 lifesize black bear, I get it from him in October (frozen) thawed it and finished skinning the head out, I kept it in a pickle and would take it out to flesh a little more here and there. Part of the hand, just under the pads was still in it so I was finishing this part last night and came across a nasty wound under one of the pads. It smelt bad and was gray/black, there is a hole in the pad.

The problem now is that there is some hair coming out of the back of this paw right where the infection must have been. The other one is fine, what the heck do I do now?? I have checked my pickle weekly and never had a problem, I need some suggestions, I'm pretty sure I can't glue the hair back on ha ha.

I put some Stop Rot on it last night and I am worried about it. Any suggestions from the seasoned taxidermist??

I am sure can dye the skin and it won't be soooo noticeable but really what can I do??

Thanks for any advice given,
    Bones

2. jorgy

jorgy Member

If I understand what you did here is you didn't flesh this bear clean and salt dry it prior to placing in a pickle. You just left part of a paw in the foot and stuck a green hide in the pickle. The infection isn't your problem. The problem is you have let the foot rot while in the pickle.

Bears are very difficult to tan yourself anyway. Doing one wrong makes it worse. You should have fleshed it clean, salt dried it, and sent it to a tannery.

I am guessing the hair will continue to come out easier each day, but once it starts you don't just make it stop with a magic chemical

3. Bones88