1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Killing Trapped Raccoons

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by kellys8693, Feb 15, 2011.

1. kellys8693

kellys8693 New Member

Hello! I'm completely new to trapping and skinning raccoons for pelts. (Hopefully learning how to tan it as well). I don't have a .22 cal or any weapon of that sort.

My question here is: Can I poison it with rat poison or antifreeze to kill it? And if I can will it still be safe to skin?
    Also, if there are any helpful tips you can give me that would be great too.

Thanks in advance.

2. muscle20

muscle20 New Member

Do you really think your going to get a trapped stressed out coon to eat poison, or drink antifreeze, If you do not have a 22cal rifle, just hit him at the base of his muzzle with your base ball bat game over.

3. kellys8693

kellys8693 New Member

Well the point is if I can somehow get him to take it with food, would it still be safe to skin.

4. muscle20

muscle20 New Member

If you hide poison in food they will detect it, so just hit him over the base of his muzzle and he will be safe to skin, wear your p.p.e. in doing so. Its not a good idea to use poison to kill mammals or anything, as a possible chain reaction can occur.

5. kellys8693

kellys8693 New Member

Thanks for the advice. :)

6. Mink

Mink New Member