1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Dirt for a base

Discussion in 'Habitat and Exhibit' started by TN Bucknasty, Feb 17, 2011.

1. TN Bucknasty

TN Bucknasty New Member

How do you like to stick dirt to a base. I'm not really looking for a wet look. I saw a guy once who just got a gallon of Elmer's glue and poured all over the base and covered with dry dirt. Would you recomend something as simple as that?

2. I am new to this habitat stuff also But my research has shown a few ways.

Yes your way described , as well 2 part foam poured on the board dirt pushed into the foam as it rises and ridge foam carved and then covered as well chicken wire and plaster burlap mix.

3. buzzbait

buzzbait Padden's Wild & Wet Taxidermy and custom Woodwork

NY
    I like to use, used coffee grounds for my dirt-works pretty good and looks real..

4. psycho

psycho 2011 WORLD CHAMPIONS!

Coffee grounds work great and so does ground up coconut shell. Yep coconut shell. If you and your family likes coconut then its another option for a different type of dirt base. It gives you a brown barky dirt look. Looks pretty cool with some critters. Dan

5. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

I mix a dark brown water base paint into the elmers glue and apply the dirt to that. It gives it a base coat that will hide what ever you are brushing the gue on if the sand doesnt stick to a spot. Do not let the glue skim over, brush small areas quickly, add sand, go to the next spot.

6. TN Bucknasty

TN Bucknasty New Member

Thanks to everyone. Y'all have some pretty good ideas.

7. DDavis

DDavis Active Member