1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

GYOTAKU tutorial

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by davidp, May 18, 2011.

1. A few people have been interested in how to do this. I am no expert but this is my method. It took 25 minutes to do this fish. All of my supplies were purchased from hobby lobby. Supplies needed: pointed brush( for eyes), 2 one inch brushes, acrylic paint( whatever suits your fancy), rice paper. This fish was done in less than 25 minutes.

The first step is to thoroughly dry the fish, gently with a towel careful not to lose the scales. This specimen is a 3 lb crappie.
    [​IMG]

the next step I use is to outline the fish with black acrylic paint include the fins and gill plate and mouth. also paint the eyes.
    [​IMG]

next i blend colors in other areas of the fish using the one inch brush
    [​IMG]

next cut your rice paper and gently place it on the fish( let the paper touch the center of the fish) then gentle spread the paper toward the edges. If you take too long, or over saturate the paper will tear. gently lift the paper!
    [​IMG]

here is the finished project
    [​IMG]

I have really enjoyed the usefulness of this website and have gotten a ton of info from here. I hope I may have helped someone.
    Thanks to all who have given me advice.

2. RTF

RTF Active Member

You bought rice paper at Hobby Lobby ?

3. Yes, it comes in a 50 feet roll. Ten dollars.

4. I will have to try that sometime it's pretty neat.

5. nice... hows the clean up off the fish when you want to mount it?

6. It rinses off very easily with no scale loss. The first one I did the non "show side".

7. slater56

slater56 Member

nice job!, thanks for sharing.

8. joeym

joeym Old Murphey

Great tutorial! Thanks for sharing!