1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

how to mount a hooded merganser drake, a tutorial by Ryan P Kostyniuk

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by RyanP, May 21, 2011.

1. I will be creating this tutorial over the next few weeks, as I have time to post pics. There will be pics from skinning to finishing.

If you have any questions or comments, please pm them to me so as not to break the tutorial up.
    As a final note, I am no professional,, this tutorial is just to help beginners get started in the right direction in bird taxidermy.

This bird was an ideal specimen being a full plumage drake, with very little shot damage, and no broken bones. I shot it the last week of october, 2010, on chip lake, Alberta.

Attached Files:

2. to begin, thaw the bird overnight, then place in a container of cool to cold water, this will help remove any blood clots in feathers, and will make the breast feathers easier to part for the inscision

Attached Files:

3. after soaking for 15 minutes. hang the bird to drip dry for 1/2 hour. hang by running string through nostrils

Attached Files:

4. next, lay bird on an old towel, (keeps water, blood, and other fluids off of work bench) and part the feathers along the breast as shown,, then make an inscison with a sharp knife, going just under the skin, (try not to cut into meat) stop inscision just before anus.

Attached Files:

5. begin to skin down the sides of the body, use fingers in a pushing motion, rather than a knife if possible to avoid cutting holes (bird skin tears very easily! U will see there is a thick layer of fat on the skin, do not worry about it for now. Skin until you can push the knee joint (thigh and drumstick ) up towards the inscision.

Attached Files: