1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

competing with fish(replicas)

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Joey Arender, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Joey Arender

Joey Arender big mouth alert

Ok this is more of a revisit then anything I guess, because I have seen it here before. I haven't competed, but in 5 state shows and one national show so far. So I have limited first hand experience, and never really paid much attention to it, until I entered the Masters category at our state show this year. I choose to compete with skin mounts right now simply because I feel that is what will make me better so it really doesn't effect me one way or the other... doing so gives me seam work, rebuilding work, paint work, molding/casting parts work, and carving work.

anyhow I am seeing mostly replicas in the shows that I have been to recently. I understand some of the reasons why, as good specimens can sometimes be hard to come by. I understand people using bought replicas in the professional category... as they want to learn to work up replicas, as well, they may have no have no aspiration to do skin mounts ever... but I am curious to what everyone thinks about doing so(purchased replica) in masters, even in a state show... I personally think in masters you should make all your own and believe that may even be the rules in the big shows..but there were several purchased replicas in the masters category at the tn show this year. not trying to start anything... I am just curious to hear what yall think someone has to gain by doing so in the masters category at a state show.

2. Cole

Cole Amateur Taxidermist