1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Wrapped mount question

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by PluckyPossum, Aug 28, 2011.

1. PluckyPossum

PluckyPossum New Member

Maine
    Hey all just a quick question,
    I am getting ready to mount up a little red squirrel. In the past I have mostly been doing very small mounts for practice such as mice, rats and recently a small weasel. (Also my first mounts which were a few grey squirrels that turned out so badly that I like to pretend they don't exist!) :(
    So any how on the mice and rats I made clay heads and just pinned them as they dried with no glue/paste. The weasel however dried a little "snarly". So I was wondering if any of you use glue/paste on a clay head for wrapped mounts? Sorry if this seems like a stupid question. Thanks!

2. Alex B.

Alex B. New Member

ND
    Hey there, I'm a beginner myself but in the mammal breakthrough manual on a wrapped squirrel they didn't use hide paste, but he did use super glue on the lips. Hope this helps some.

3. krusher167

krusher167 New Member

super glue is the not best alternative to hide paste because it gives u a working time of about 10 seconds....

4. redwolf

redwolf Active Member

PluckyPossum, I would suggest taking a small piece of foam and carve the head. Use the Real head as reference.

5. George

George The older I get, the better I was.