1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tanned skin Ostrich questions

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by NWWINGS, Sep 13, 2011.

1. NWWINGS

NWWINGS Member

Oregon
    I have a request from a guy who I sometimes do birds for. He has a bunch of African stuff with an ostrich included. I looked at it last night. Tanned skin. Split all the way down the legs. Split all the way up the throat with the skull in there. There is also another bag of feathers I'd have to patch in. Wings are split too. It really looks like a big mess. Is this normal? Tanned skin like that coming back from Africa? I have zero experience with ostriches. Any comments or advice are welcome. Do I even consider taking on this project ???

2. RDA

RDA Active Member

BAAAHAHAA! THAT IS the normal Pat... :D ;) Its JUST a big bird period.... CHARGE accordingly! You can do the natual legs (best) or repros, glue in sone tiny downie feathers over seam here and there on the neck, along with skillfull painting, and YES you will use that bag of feathers using superglue and a sharp pin...I used 3/8 rod for the wings. Last one i did was done in a day including mann mods.. ;)

3. Nancy C

Nancy C Well-Known Member

Tanned? Yipes. That might be good, or it might be bad. I've heard some scary things about African tanneries.
    If it looks like it was skinned by aborigines with a rusty machete and a lot of anger issues, then yes, that is normal - based on the ones that I have seen coming from Africa.

4. NWWINGS

NWWINGS Member

Oregon