1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Maceration, beetles, degreasing, whiteining.

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by confed22, Oct 10, 2011.

1. confed22

confed22 New Member

So I've been reading all the forums i can find, with info on the best methods for euro mounts. I've never done anything like this before, so I've just been trying to soak up as much info as i can. I've got a 20' x 12' shop I'm going to designate for doing taxidermy work. i think I'm going to try both maceration and beetles and decide what method works best for my schedule, since as we can all see this topic has a snow ball affect. i am wondering about the horns on on these animals. when you are decreasing what do you do to prevent the horns for being submerged in the solution besides the the obvious way of just keeping the horns from getting wet. i plan on making a big decreasing tank with a lid. but i see in all the euro mounts that the skull is white all the way to the base of the horns. so how can i make this happen? also what is the best temp for decreasing? also I've read if you macerate then the decreasing process isn't as long. could you not actually degrease as you macerate? i know its out there but if I'm asking these questions might as well go big or go home. what is the whitening process I'm lost on that. you all are very helpfull and i thank you for your help and knowledge.

2. lizardguts

lizardguts skull collector

Hi there :) welcome to the forum