1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

My 1st WhiteTail Deer Ever! pics

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by sclack, Dec 13, 2011.

1. sclack

sclack New Member

This Is my very first time ever mounting anything. I wanted to give it a shot. So I Bought some DVDs and used this website for so pointers. So then I went to work I Caped it out and bought every thing to do the mount. The Fleshing was kinnd of a pain. The tanning went well. alot of blood and Sweat and Beer ;D Went in to this so far. I Just finished tucking and sewing it up and took som Pics.. Its my cousins First Buck So im Mounting it for his Christmas gift. He wanted a Aggressive look so i got the 64d manikin from McKenzies we liked the way it looked. I had a lot of fun trying it and hope to mount some more. And learned alot as well. Any tips on what kind of paint to use after it is ready to finish out ? water or lacquer. Let Me know what yall think
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Ok here is the new pics after the tips and suggestions. Thanks For all the help Guys all tips were great and helped me. They are bondo ears. The things i did
    1. Adjusted the ears back for the aggressive look
    2. Adjusted the upper eye lids up
    3. Groomed the hair down
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. To me, the ears don't say aggressive. Try putting them back, I think it'll really add to your mount. :)
    The ear butts also look extended a bit too much.
    Something about the eye shape looks off too.

Here's some aggressive poses i found in a google search:
    http://www.taxidermy.net/images/a-carter-aggressive.jpg

http://i694.photobucket.com/albums/vv302/RonCoulter/IMG_2937.jpg

3. tomdes

tomdes Me my dear and Fall BAZZ!!!