1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Wanted Small birds native to texas

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Corey, Oct 1, 2006.

1. Corey

Corey New Member

Hi, I am an artist living in Dallas Texas and I am in need of some taxidermy small birds - like sparrows or such.
    Thanks, Corey

2. JonHarleTX

JonHarleTX Ya'll hear that. George just signed in. Quick Hide

Hi Corey,

All birds NATIVE to texas are highly protected.. With the exception of gamebirds which have their own set of regulations. You would most likely be breaking a federal law by possessing any small Native Texas birds.

Both the Dallas and Ft worth museums of Science and History have vast study skin collections available to you by appointment. That would be your best bet.

Jon~

3. Michael Pelc

Michael Pelc Guest

Corey,

Many colleges (universities and those teaching the biological sciences) have vast museum collections of birds. Such museums typically have a great many study skins, and possibly taxidermy mounts, which are excellent for feather shape, color, etc. Likely, study skins would have specimen tags attached, giving lengths of bill, tarsus, tail, and overall length, which can be used as size guides. Most curators of these museums are more than happy to make these available to the artist, when used at their facility. Bring along a sketch pad, note pad, camera, small ruler, and if allowed, artist colors for ‘blending to match’ specimen colors. Modeling in non-hardening clay can also be an excellent tool, if permitted, while examining a collection . . . just be cautious of oil transfer to the specimen.