1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

EZ fleshing and tanning with out a flesher

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Outback Taxidermy, Feb 12, 2012.

1. I have made a DVD called "Fleshing made cheap and easy" with out a flesher. I found a method, using a common shop tool to flesh capes, and hides. I have seen the tool used, but not quite the same way. I have been using it now for over 10 years since my flesher broke down.

If you have been sending capes out, this video will be worth it! I take you from the raw salted cape/hide to the finised ready to mount product. It is almost 2 hours of simple instruction with captions, do to low volume and noise. Including the solutions used etc. It has saved me plenty of dollars and can flesh a full mule deer cape in 15 to 20 min. Here is the link to purchase the DVD:

http://www.outback-taxidermy.com/fleshingdvd.html

Greg

2. slee

slee New Member

whats the dvd worth?

3. I wish I knew what I now have on the DVD befor I invested in a fleshing wheel and learned how to use it. So if you look at it that way, how much was the fleshing wheel? The tool I use now was less than the price of the DVD.

Do you tan your own hides and capes?

4. slee

slee New Member

Right now I do everything by hand. This method of yours, is it for fleshing or thinning the cape.

5. If you mean taking the meat off the fresh cape after skinning, I still use a knife. If you mean after it is rehydrated in a pickel bath (where you would use a dakoda flesher). Yes, this method shaves it down and gives it a smooth soft finish, ready for the tanning solution.