1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Unwelcome little friends!

Discussion in 'Habitat and Exhibit' started by unluckyducktaxidermy, Feb 28, 2012.

1. First of all I am new to taxidermy and have learned quite a bit from these forums but I have run into a problem I hope I can get some help with. I decided to go out the other day and collect up some beautiful pieces of driftwood by the river to mount my waterfowl too. It is rather cold here mind you and many of the pieces were "frozen" so to speak. Needless to say, after a couple hours in my nice warm home I woke some unwanted little friends living in my pieces of driftwood. Tons and tons of ants! Lets just say the pieces of wood are back outside but there were very nice and I would still like to use them. Which brings me to my questions, is there a way to treat a piece of driftwood to say remove my pesky friends and anything else that's on the wood? would an oven work? or boiling? Any advice would be truly appreciated!

2. Big plastic garbage bag and a can of raid or bug bomb.

3. Baking is a good method, boiling water would probably do it, or a few days in the freezer.

4. The bug bomb seems like an excellent idea for my over run piece of driftwood, but for curiosities sake, if I was to bake the piece of wood what temperature would I put it on or would I have to do something special to it before I put it in? Also, as I thought more and more about the boiling solution I don't know how well it would work as it floats like crazy and wouldn't stay in the pot very well.

5. If you set the oven to 400, let it heat up, then turn it off, that works.

It depends on the shape and sie of the driftwood Some pieces you could just dunk in boiling water for a minute and be done. But it's it's a huge huge piece you'd have no chance.