1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Some questions from a complete noob

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by thylacinelover, Mar 28, 2012.

1. thylacinelover

thylacinelover New Member

USA
    If you've seen my introduction thread, you guys know that I know nothing about taxidermy,but I'll just state that again here just in case. Also, please bare with me if some of these questions seem stupid. I am a total noob at taxidermy. I just enjoy looking at other people's mounts.

Now for my questions:

1. In taxidermy, is it possible to only get animals that died naturally so they don't have to die from hunting, fur farming, or other methods in which humans kill them?
    2. Do you have to remove the insides of the animals or is it possible to get an animal with that already done?
    3. Do you have to worry about the animals rotting/decaying since they're dead?
    4.Is it true that if you have a mount and you pet it too much, the fur will start to fall off and get ruined?I read that that happened with a famous dog that they had at some musuem where they let the visitors pet the dog mount and then the fur started falling off and getting ruined and looking gross so they removed it and put it back inside a glass case away from people touching it.
    5.Is it illegal to get mounts or pelts of extinct animals like thylacines for private ownership?
    6. Is it even possible to get the pelts?
    7.Can you turn a pelt into a mount? Like these kinds of pelts:
    http://www.hideandfur.com/inventory/foxcolorguide.html
    I heard you can't because they don't have all the body part alot of the time.
    8. Is taxidermy a hard thing to learn how to do?
    9. How did you guys get rid of the intial fears or morbidness feelings you had towards fooling with deads animals? I wonder about taxidermy for myself,but I really feel wierd around anything to do with death so I don't know....