1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Fleshing,, how long shld it take for a white tail..

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Bigbucklover69, May 10, 2012.

1. Bigbucklover69

Bigbucklover69 New Member

I got a question for yas,, whats the average for fleshing out a white tail cape? Im just learning how to do this, from turning the parts to completing the fleshing its taking me around 5-6 hours,, now remember i am really new at this..does that seem like a long time or am i doing ok for now...and one other thing,, is there a place you can send the skin to be fleshed instead of doing it yourself?

2. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

What is an "average",whitetail? Stop worrying about time and worry about thoroughness. I can flesh one in 20 minutes when I try but usually take 30 because I stopped timing myself.

3. Don't be so concerned with speed at this point. Concentrate on getting the skin fleshed properly & As thin as you can get it.
    Speed will come with experience.
    My first few took all day 28 years later 30 min.
    You need to learn to flesh/shave before you start looking to send it out.

4. lol, you beat me to that George.

5. Bigbucklover69

Guess i wrote that wrong,, im not worried about time, i actually am bored after my day job, i was just wondering if 6-7 hours to flesh was a normal start or am i doing something way wrong that i need to change up..and wow george, 20-30 mins, thats amazing..takes me that long just to get it on the board straight, lol

6. 45 minutes for me

7. kikkertinz

kikkertinz Glass half full

Just like anything else the more times you do it with good technique the more efficient you will become. No different than most other things. Stick with it! Wait til you cant leave well enough alone with a fleshing machine and think you can get one more pass on an area and you open up a nice 2-3" hole or bigger..lol