1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Mounting A Largemouth Bass. With pictures and lots of them!

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by K.N Fish Taxidermy, Jun 3, 2012.

1. K.N Fish Taxidermy

K.N Fish Taxidermy Kenneth Newton Phone#804-867-7736

Well after some inspiration from Mr. Rick Krane and others. I am wanting to contribute a little here also. I am going to be taking pictures of the whole process of skinning, mounting, and painting a Largemouth Bass. I have been doing this for about 4 years now and I am still learning so if you see anything that I am doing wrong feel free to say so. I hope this will help someone when they start out with fish. I am also going to keep on adding photos with steps as I continue along. Now I don't do this full time so it might take a little while until its finished. Now feel free to add any pictures and steps that I may have missed but I am pretty sure I haven't left anything out. Lets get started.
    I am going to be working on a 23" in. Largemouth Bass.
    The first thing you are going to want to do is get the necessary measurements from the fish so you can buy the closest fitting form. On the girth measurement I take off a 1/4" so that it compensates for the skin thickness. Now pretty much every form you buy you will have to shape and alter it to fit. You can also learn how to carve your'e own manikins so you get an exact fit. Now on to the skinning.
    Here are the tools I use.
    [​IMG]
    The first cut you are going to make is basically along the lateral line or a little lower. Take your pair of good bone cutting shears and start at the center and work you way to the collar bone. Next work your way to the base of the tail. Try to keep this cut straight and even with the lateral line. Stop at the base of the tail where the scales stop at.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I used a set of garden trimming shears to cut the collar bone.