1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

My first contribution to the firing line!

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by SWIFFY, Jun 5, 2012.

1. SWIFFY

SWIFFY Member

Hello folks! Ive been lurking on here for a few months now, asking a few questions, getting some great information! Thanks everyone for that! Ive been doing taxidermy for hobby for about 14 years now, but just a few heads a year usually. At the very least, Id like to say this site has really inspired me to get into it a little more. There are so many great minds with great ideas on here! I look forward to being a part of it!

Just recently I finished my 2011 Minnesota buck that I shot this year. Im pretty happy with it and I wanted to share it with you folks here. I killed a much larger buck in WI with my bow this year as well and have it to mount next! Its a "slob" and I want to make sure I do it justice! Thanks for the help and new creative ideas... fire away!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now I know I have plenty of things to improve on! I just figured i'd let you guys beat me up a little! I think the best advice i heard from someone on here so far was how knowing what to improve on is half the battle, if we think we have it figured out, thats when were stuck with problems. BTW... This was also my 1st attempt at a wall habitat which I am very pleased with, however much of it is "real" and I realize that seems to be a no-no in this artistry. I'll get better ;)

Thanks everyone!

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    With the pics you provided the biggest issue I see is ear placement. Check your references, the ears need to move up and forward. The color around the eyes looks a tad dark. Looks pretty good otherwise. 3bears

3. Museum Man

Museum Man Well-Known Member

i agree, the ears position are an issue and the paint around the eyes is way to dark...

4. IDForkHorn