1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Paashe Airbrush

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by mikea, Oct 3, 2006.

1. mikea

mikea New Member

I am new to Taxidermy and have now completed 2 whitetail mounts. I bought a VL airbrush kit and the Paashe D500 compressor. I am using Vandykes whitetail finishing kit in laquer paint. My problem is that I can not get this paint to spray evenly. It is like it clogs constantly. I am using a #3 tip and when I switch to just thinner it sprays great. I s my paint bad? Is my compressor to small ? I do not have a pressure gauge on my compressor.Any ideas? I have tried thinning down the paint drastically but do not want to affect the color either.

2. Cole

Cole Amateur Taxidermist

Try thinning your paint with retarder instead of thinner. It sounds like your paint may be drying on the tip.

3. joe

joe Member

that is your problem tin it and retard it that will fix it

4. Thin and retard your paint and it would be a good idea to get a pressure guage and mouisture trap.

5. Old Fart

Old Fart Active Member

Thin your paint with retarder and use the thinner to clean the airbrush. Thinner dries faster and causes the paint to dry in the tip. Retarder slows the drying and allows the paint to flow through the tip. Using both thinner and retarder will just water down the paint. They counter act the effect of each other, so never use them together

6. mikea

mikea New Member

Thanks for all of the replys. I will get some retarder.

7. bigbucks

bigbucks New Member

I just built a new taxidermy shop and am looking to buy a new airbrush compressor. Any suggestions what to get. Gameheads only.

8. Matt

Matt Active Member