1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Hairline Crack Repair?

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by 1fish2fish, Jun 25, 2012.

1. 1fish2fish

1fish2fish Well-Known Member

Good evening everyone,

Just wondering if anyone has dealt with a hairline crack in a painted blank. I've got an ARP 3-D that has a couple hairline cracks at the rear of the head and the head-body junction. I didn't see them in the primed blank, but when I layed down my base colors, they are as clear as day. I could have easily fixed them before I started painting, but its too late for that. I could strip the thing and start over, but thought I'd see if anyone had a good solution from their own experience. My best thought was to put some fin magic over the cracks, and layer on more color, but I can never get that stuff really smooth. Anyway, I'd appreciate any wisdom you have on this problem.

Thanks, Scott

2. den007

den007 Active Member

You might try a quick set epoxy (one minute is even available). Use a toothpick or thin tool to run it along the crack.....smooth out with a brush and safety solvent. When it hardens up good, very lightly sand and repaint. There are also some fairly quick set clear urethanes that might do the trick.

3. Brian W

Brian W Well-Known Member

Denny got it right to feather sand when dry and then blend in the paint. Simple fix. I use Magic Smooth. Smooth out with a wet finger. It smooths so fine that you may need very little sanding if you do it right..........no problem.

4. 1fish2fish

Thanks guys. Logical. I'll give it a try. I've got some extra Loctite Quick Set Epoxy from a home project.