1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

tips on bear fleshing and tanning....

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by eatnmudd, Aug 3, 2012.

1. eatnmudd

eatnmudd New Member

I am going to flesh and tan a bear hide, I am a rookie at this so I need help. I shot a 300lb. black bear two years ago with my bow. funds have been tight, So I was not able to do anything with it. I want to do somthing here soon before it goes bad.

I would like any tips that would help me with this, I was told they are really hard to flesh (very greasy).
    Also how can you tell if the hide, nose, or ears are freezer burnt?

The skull and paws are folded in the middle of the cape (fur out) and then rolled up and placed in a heavy duty trash bag. It is in my chest freezer that is only opened maybe twice a year. Thanks for the feedback!!

2. ladyarcher726

ladyarcher726 2012: 1st & best of category

have you fleshed anything before? Aside from that, send it to a tannery, everyone will say the same thing, they can degrease it and tan it and it will be great, that's not something to tackle on your own, especially as a first timer, you don't want to lose that great bear!

Congrats on it too, that's a nice one!

3. eatnmudd

eatnmudd New Member

Yes I have fleshed deer, coons, foxes, and coyotes. but never bear that is why I was asking.

4. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

You need to flesh the fat off all the way to the hair roots, and degrease it several times, if it is not degreased all of the way, it will stink like a fatty bear, even after tanned. You really should think twice about doing it rookie style. The tannery will do it right, sell some junk on ebay to pay for the tanning, it is well worth it.

5. bill@hogheaven

[email protected] New Member

Tannery is the answer.

6. eatnmudd

eatnmudd New Member

Thanks for the info guys. is their a tannery that is a good choice?

Would I need to flesh it first?