1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Alum tanning recipe please.

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by monarch, Aug 15, 2012.

1. monarch

monarch Member

Hi, guys - I have been using Lutan for many years and recently changed to an Alum/salt tanning solution. However, I have conflicting advice on the mixture. One top taxidermist told me to mix 1 gallon per pound of Alum and per pound of salt. Another taxidermist says to mix 1 gallon per pound of Alum, but 2 1/2 pounds of salt mixed in another four gallons of water, then mix together. I am confused to say the least. What is right please guys. The first solution does seem rather strong however, but help! Bill.

2. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Monarch, if you look above you'll see a "Search:" block. Type in "Alum Tanning Recipe"

3. monarch

monarch Member

Hi, George - thanks for the info. However, I have searched there, but then again I could have missed something. Cheers, Bill.

4. monarch

monarch Member

Nope - nothing there George?

5. Not to be a wise guy, but why don't you just go back to the Lutan if it's been working for you? Sounds to me like you have two people who really don't know how to use alum giving you advise anyway. The first guy is using way too much alum and salt both for a tan, the second guy confuses me too!

6. George

Hmmm, I typed in "alum tanning recipes" and I got http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php/topic,50765.0.html

Most of the advice there also shadows what Keith is telling you. With all the great products out there today, I don't understand why anyone would use alum except for making pickles.

7. sportsmen wildlife

sportsmen wildlife New Member