1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Polytranspar vs. Life Tone

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by esmith3102, May 4, 2007.

1. esmith3102

esmith3102 New Member

I am looking at getting some new paint. I am wondering if these 2 companies are pretty comparable or if one has better qualities than the other. I am going to be getting Laquer. I have some water base stuff now and i am tired of messing with it. It just doesnt pray as nice as i was hoping it would. Any help or info on what to expect with each would be great. Have a great day!!

2. Rick Krane

Rick Krane Fish Taxidermist/ Judge/ Sculptor/ Instructor

Hey ES!

I will tell you I have been using both for over 20 years and they are both great. You'll find that they have some of the same colors but there are some diffrent ones as well. Here is a few thoughts and a list of colors I like to use.
    Paint
    Life tone
    LT201-8 Rich Brown
    LT202-8 Burnt Sienna
    LT203-8 Dark Brown
    LT205-8 Cocoa Brown
    LT353-8 Transp. Amber Oxide
    LT500-8 Gold Toner
    LT302-8 Golden Yellow
    LT701-8 Off-White
    LT453-8 Transp. Dk. Green

LT974-8 Chrome
    LT952-8 Violet Pearlescent
    LT953-8 Blue Pearlescent
    LT975-8 Chrome Pearlescent
    LT932-8 Gold Pearl
    LT171-8 Candy Gill Red
    LT672-8 Candy Payne's Grey
    LT101-8 Gill Red
    LT871-8 Candy Vivid Orange
    Paint
    Polytranspar
    FP60 -8 Lt. Bass & Trout Gr.
    FP62 -8 Dark Bass & Trout Gr.
    FP72 -8 Sahara Tan
    FP64 -8 Scale Detail Green
    FP65 -8 Scale Detail Black

I hope this may help!

My BEst!

Rick Krane

3. buckeyebullet23

buckeyebullet23 New Member

Ohio
    Kind of trivial, but I hate the caps on polytranspar bottles! What a mess. Both good paints though.

4. sparkyf

sparkyf New Member