1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Skin prep for tanning

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by mtbehm, Oct 2, 2012.

1. mtbehm

mtbehm New Member

I am mounting a bobcat and neew some help with the hide prep work. Do I salt the hide immediately after skinning or do I wash it in dawn or a degreaser before salting? I am using a lutan fn tanning kit. Thanks alot, Matt

2. duxdown

duxdown New Member

NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dont wash it in dawn unless you want a hairless cat! Just skin and salt, if you have a good degreaser that you buy from a taxidermy supply you can wash if its bloody, but you can do that after the salting as well.

3. Skin, flesh, turn ears, split lips, eyes nose, and claws. Salt, pickle, shave, degrease, and tan.

4. ShastaDonegan

ShastaDonegan Lets start with ridiculous and move backwards.

I'm not saying I know much on the subject because I have little experience with tanning but...I dry preserved my last bobcat and washed it in dawn right after skinning but before fleshing and all the hair is still on the hide and it is fluffy and radiantly soft still... my daughter pets it regularly (against my rules) and no hair falls out to this day.

...and I would never "shave" a bobcats skin down...there is no need.

5. I always shave cats. The skin in the neck and head areas are relatively thick compared to the rest of the skin. Of course I have never mounted a DP'd anything.

6. mr useless

mr useless Member

Spain
    what to do with really dirty, bloody or smelly specimens then? should wash it after salt it?or before skin it? i mean all type of skins in general, not just cats( i ignore if they need some kind of special treatment)

7. ShastaDonegan

I'm a "wet paint tester" JB ...I have to mess it up on my own before I listen....lol

8. duxdown

duxdown New Member