1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

What type of catfish???

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by K.N Fish Taxidermy, Nov 25, 2012.

1. K.N Fish Taxidermy

K.N Fish Taxidermy Kenneth Newton Phone#804-867-7736

This has had me puzzled. I thought it was a brown bullhead but the tail was slightly forked. Well overnight the tail was chewed off by something so don't have any good pictures of it. Any ideas on what it is? It is 16 1/2 inches. It was caught in central NC.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. joeym

joeym Old Murphey

Looks like a mudcat to me.

3. Looks like a Channel catfish to me.

4. mmwtdh

mmwtdh Member

That's what I was going to say, but I'm no expert.......... I just eat 'em.

5. B Jones

B Jones Memeber of - NTA,UTA,AIT.Proud Member of NZTA.

That's a channel cat

6. Kevin Halle

Kevin Halle Well-Known Member

Channel cat.

7. joeym

joeym Old Murphey

The tail certainly makes it look like a channel catfish, but the color just don't seem right for what we call a channel catfish here. What did it taste like!

8. ELMER GANTRY

ELMER GANTRY **THE DISTANCE OF GOOSE**

Although the coloration is standard Channel Catfish (Ictalurus punctatus) for my area I took notice in the initial description of the "slightly forked tail.”

The first picture clearly shows the anal fin and upon enlarging it, and inverting the colors I can only count 20 anal fin rays indicating that this fish is possibly a White Catfish (Ameiurus catus) that is naturally found in North Carolina.

Channel Catfish (Ictalurus punctatus) have 24 -30 anal fin rays
    White Catfish (Ameiurus catus) 18-23

If you still have the fish in hand a positive identification can be made by counting those anal fin rays.

http://www.outdooralabama.com/fishing/freshwater/fish/catfish/white/

9. K.N Fish Taxidermy