1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

New guy to forum and taxidermy

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by armed_al, Jan 1, 2013.

1. armed_al

armed_al New Member

Hello I just joined the forum so I though I would check in and say hello. I'm pretty new to taxidermy, I did a squirrel mount when I was a kid thats about it but I have always had great interest in it. I'm a very avid Wisconsin bowhunter, trapper and fisherman so I never have a shortage of potential mounts. I've been reading and watching videos for awhile and would like to dive in here pretty soon. I'm a skilled craftsman with my hands and I always strive to be good at what ever it is I peruse so I really look forward to studying this art.

Thanks,
    Allen

2. EA

EA Well-Known Member

Welcome.

3. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Allen, I wish you the best, but if you're an "avid bowhunter, trapper, and fishermen" I'd encourage you to think long and hard before you jump into this mess. I used to be one of those guys to, but as soon as I opened the door, all those things I took so much joy in doing had to be put on the back burner. Choose wisely.

4. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

I concur, only so much time outdoors in a year, sucks to be doing taxidermy when you want to be fishing or hunting, or tapping, or hiking, or kayaking, or camping. I love wood working, I can just stop, put it on a shelf, and go do something else, not with taxidermy, better plan on spending a big hunk of time on a weekend to do the taxidermy, it's a big time sucker.

5. Monty Artrip

Monty Artrip Active Member