1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Another quality vs price, unhappy customer?

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by RedTx, Feb 16, 2013.

1. RedTx

RedTx New Member

So I did this ringneck for a customer and when he picked it up he seemed happy. After a few days he calls me up and says he isnt really happy about the quality of the mount and was wondering if I could work a deal on the next bird he brings me since im new at this whole bird mounting thing? Given im and amateur and barely have 30 birds under my belt but I thought I did a pretty good job on this bird plus since im new I only charged him $150 which I still think is a pretty good deal. I dont know, the guy has me questioning my work? Is it that bad or is this guy just trying to get a deal? Is it worth $150? I recently went to $200 but maybe I shouldnt have?

[​IMG]

2. Rogerst

Rogerst Member

i face this issue all the time in my "real job" Ask yourself, "do I want this guy as a customer" if he is tying to nickle and dime you you do not. I don't do Taxidermy to make money and I only do Fish for others ( I wholesale and do a good bit of interior design work) Even with limited amount of "customers" I do not tolerate this kind of behavior. From appearances your work IS worth the $150 he paid. Imagine one of the great bird guys in the country, what would Newmeyer, or Luke, Or Reedy do if a guy called and asked for a discount? I believe they would say nope. Even at their price I am sure some people price shop them.
    Stay positive. If you hear that he is bad mouthing your quality show the picture. Just my opinion.

3. *

* Liberalism IS A MENTAL ILLNESS !

Red Ex that's a $295 bird all day long with the base.