1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Smallmouth bass paint help

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by matchbook454, Feb 25, 2013.

1. matchbook454

matchbook454 Member

Just watched Rick Kranes dvd in preparation to paint my first fish. I had a couple questions and was hoping someone here might be able to help. I cannot find the med rich gold powder that he uses as his base. I found a fine rich gold and am wondering if it is the same? Are there any other alternatives such as pearl ex or even airbrush paint? I'm hoping that someone else has done a comparison. Since I'm just getting into fish and am on a budget I would rather not spend a ton of money "looking for" a similar color. Maybe I'm being a little anal about getting the color that close? Anyway, any help or advice is appreciated.

2. Just email Anglers Artistry and I'm sure they can answer your questions.
    I have same video, but I actually airbrushed the base colors and then used charcoals and powders for detailed effects. Just be sure to seal the powders.

posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

3. 1fish2fish

1fish2fish Well-Known Member