1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First Skull "Ermine"

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by FowlWeather, Mar 21, 2013.

1. FowlWeather

FowlWeather New Member

Hey all,
    Just wanted to share my first completed skull after starting out and acquiring a starter colony of Dermestid beetles from Ken at Kodiak Bones and Bugs, thanks again Ken these bugs are great! I'm brand new to skulls, bones and articulations so I'm fairly happy with the final results of first attempt. I have a bunch more different specimens in the freezer that I will be working on over the coming months so I will be sure to share as I go. I used 50/50 Ammonia/cold water for a week and then 3% hydrogen peroxide for a week with a little bit of gentle toothbrush work in between. What do the pros think? Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. FowlWeather

FowlWeather New Member

2nd pic

Attached Files:

3. It's an excellent first skull. Small skulls are often more difficult than large ones. You might want to put it back in the ammonia for another week to remove the remaining grease in the mandibles and above the upper carnassials. Also, that vertical strip at the end of the nose is cartilage and could be removed.

Barely visible in your photos are holes on top of the skull in the frontal bones. Don't worry about them. They're perfectly natural. They're cause by parasitic nematodes. Most weasels have them.

4. FowlWeather

FowlWeather New Member