1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

unwanted minerals in water?

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by tuckertan, Mar 21, 2013.

1. tuckertan

tuckertan New Member

i've been tanning for a couple of years now, and as you all know i bark tan my hides. since i moved to my new place and setup another tannery i've noticed a difference in the quality of my leather. i've been thinking about getting the water tested to find out exactly what minerals are in the water. does anyone happen to know much about mineral content in water and how it affects tanning? i know that a soft water is desired.. but are there things in particular that can affect tanning agents?

thanks

2. cyclone

cyclone Posts: 400001

Calcium, magnesium, iron. Get a softener or use citric acid.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelating_agent

3. tuckertan

tuckertan New Member

i'm currently using safety acid.. how would the use of citric acid solve the presence of minerals in the water? is it really either getting a softener or switching to citric acid?

i've thought about getting a water softener. i'll look into it.

4. cyclone

Didn't read the link info, eh....
    Didn't tell you to switch acids, use it in conjunction with what you are using now.

5. tuckertan

tuckertan New Member

i ready it right after i posted.

thanks

6. Bruce_Rittel

Bruce_Rittel Consultant Services

Another alternative would be to add a Chelating Agent to your process Water - before you add the chemicals. This problem is typical if you are vegetable tanning. The problem however is finding an up to date source for the Chelating Agent. I used to carry it - but my source is out of business now. Here is my former instruction sheet for it.

"Instructions for using RITTELS Chelating Agent (CA-604)"