1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tanning a badger, Need advice

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by balsamln, Mar 21, 2013.

1. balsamln

balsamln New Member

WI
    Hello all. I'm very new to the taxidermy business and have been reading many threads about tanning. The more I read the more confused I get. It seems everyone uses a different technique for the many different tanning solutions....and none are the exact match to what I have. Also, according to a past post you can't trust the directions written on the container it was shipped in.

The hide has been fleshed and dried without using salt (trapper dried it). My plan is to put it in a pickle with safetee acid, salt mixture and when it loosens up split the ears and lips. Once that is all done I will put it in the pickle for another day or so and then start shaving it down.

After shaving put back in pickle...then the tanning....Using Curatan, do I neutralize before or after I tan? How long do I tan? The directions on the jug don't even mention neutralizing the hide.

Thanks for any suggestions. Corey

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Corey lets see if I can assist you here. If a person has any questions about a product they should call the manufacturer on it to make sure of your directions. This is how I do it. also I never place a dried hide in any pickle solution, it may or not hydrate back the proper way.
    So I hydrate the hide first in water with some type of relaxing agent.
    Then rinse well and placed in a pickle for three days.
    Drain,shave,degrease if needed, then back to the pickle for another day.
    drain,neutralize and either use a soak tan or a rub on at this time.