1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

First deer on my own complete, (critique)

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by dzimprich, Apr 12, 2013.

1. dzimprich

dzimprich New Member

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

THis is my first deer on my own, would love to here any critiques on it so i can improve on my next one :D
    Sorry about the sideways pictures, cant seem to figure out how to rotate them

2. Instincts

Instincts New Member

Keep in mind that I'm no pro and haven't got to mount a deer yet, but these are some things I would try to work on next time that I see:
    The nose looks like it needs to be pulled up, those little angles below the nostrils should be around the nostrils if you can understand what I'm saying there.
    The deers left eye, the pupil doesn't seem to be horizontal, it looks kind of diagonal, it may be the pic and eye shape is just a tad off in my opinion but I have definitely seen worse!
    The rosette on the brisket is off it looks like and more to the right of the deers chest than centered.
    I think the ears look pretty good.
    It looks like the hair pattern on the left lipline is pretty off and the back of the mouth should have just a slight upward turn to it instead of just straight across.

Again I'm not a pro and your mount looks a heck of alot better than the mount I had done "professionally" on my first deer I killed. I hope my first deer mount turns out as good, think you did a great job!

3. I also think the lips should be tucked more and it kind of looks like from the pics that the eyelashes aren't angled down enough.

4. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

Well there you have it, a critique from someone that has never mounted a deer, but just parrots what has been repeated from other critiques here a million times. I guess you don't have to mount a deer to be able to tell others how to.